Close Menu
Berlin, Ocean Pines News Worcester County Bayside Gazette Logo Berlin, Ocean Pines News Worcester County Bayside Gazette


Worcester Co. Teacher of the Year nominees

By Kara Hallissey, Staff Writer

(Feb. 1, 2018) During the monthly Worcester County Board of Education meeting on Jan. 16, the 2018 Teacher of the Year nominees were announced.

“We are incredibly fortunate to have the best Teacher of the Year recognition program here in Worcester County,” said Superintendent Lou Taylor. “We value the work of each and every one of these honored teachers, as they represent the amazing teaching going on in all of our classrooms across the county.”

Teachers were nominated through a ballot process by a student, parent, colleague, administrator or community member.

The 14 candidates represent each school in the county and a number of judges will be responsible for reviewing each teacher’s portfolio.

The educator who receives the highest combined score on their portfolios and interviews wins the Worcester County Teacher of the Year title, which will be announced at an annual banquet on April 6, at the Clarion Resort hotel on 101st Street. The winner will also advance to the state competition.

The Worcester County Teacher of the Year candidates are: Damien Sanzotti, Berlin Intermediate School; Donna Socha, Buckingham Elementary School; Karen Holland, Cedar Chapel Special School; Kristie Fogle, Ocean City Elementary School; Theresa Olenchick, Pocomoke Elementary School; Alexandra Tobiassen, Pocomoke High School; Brian Cook, Pocomoke Middle School; Rebecca Johnson, Showell Elementary School; Beth Shockley-Lynch, Snow Hill Elementary School; Michele Kosin, Snow Hill High School; Emily Taylor, Snow Hill Middle School; Joseph Stigler, Stephen Decatur High School; Jaimie Ridgely, Stephen Decatur Middle School and Caitlin Evans, Worcester Technical High School.

“I am very proud of this year’s cohort of candidates, and I look forward to celebrating them all at our banquet this spring,” Taylor said.