Close Menu
Berlin, Ocean Pines News Worcester County Bayside Gazette Logo Berlin, Ocean Pines News Worcester County Bayside Gazette


OPVFD swears in officers for ‘14

OCEAN PINES–The Ocean Pines Volunteer Fire Department held its annual Installation and Awards Dinner on Saturday Dec 7.  
OPVFD officers were sworn in by Worcester County Fire Marshall Jeff McMahon.
The 2014 officers are:
Line Officers Chief Rich Angelo
First Assistant Chief Steve Grunewald
Captains Ed McNeill and Harvey Booth
Fire Lieutenant Vinny Tomaselli
EMS Lieutenant Corey Dietrich
Fire Police Captain Ron Thorwart
Fire Police Lieutenants Jack Panuska and Ralph Decker
Deputy Chief Bill Bounds
Lieutenants Eric Budd, David Collins and Jamie Englishman 
Administrative Officers:
President Dan Healy
Vice President Ron Thorwart
Board members David Deal, Neil Gottesman and Jack Panuska

Dignitaries attending included Worcester County Commissioners Judy Boggs and Madison Bunting, OPA Board President Tom Terry, Ocean Pines Chief of Police David Massey, Worcester County States Attorney Beau Ogelsby, Worcester County Clerk of the Court, Steve Hales, and Founding Chief of the OPVFD, Dick Passwater.
The event was opened by Healy who, welcomed all and introduced OPVFD member Father Glenn Duffy who gave the Invocation. Chief Angelo followed with a brief report about the services provided year-to-date. Fire calls made: 179, and EMS/Ambulance calls: 1,332, for a total of 1,511 calls.
There were many service awards presented. Some of those included:
Fire Awards – Top Responders: Michael Allen, Robert Gilbert and Dan Healy
EMS Award – Top Responder:  Barbara Ross
EMS Award – EMS Driver Top Responder: Ron Thorwart
Fire Police Awards – Top Responders: Barry Gusst, Ralph Decker and Ed Wolpin 
Cadet Award – Top Responder: Jonathan Bush
Paramedic of the Year: Glenn Shockley
Chief Passwater Participation Award: Dale Shord
There were awards for years of service recognizing five years, 10 years and 15 years and Life Members.