Close Menu
Berlin, Ocean Pines News Worcester County Bayside Gazette Logo Berlin, Ocean Pines News Worcester County Bayside Gazette


Bd. of Ed. election in three districts on Nov. 3 ballot

Candidates set in contests in District 2 and District 3

By Ally Lanasa, Staff Writer

(Oct. 8, 2020) Worcester County voters will elect three members of the Worcester County Board of Education on Nov. 3, when they go to the polls in the general election.

On the ballot will be candidates for school board District 2, District 3 and District 5.

Rodney Bailey and Donald Smack Sr. are vying for the District 2 seat that had been held by Barry Brittingham Sr. In District 3, former county school superintendent Jon Andes and Angie Chantelle are competing for the seat held by  Sara Thompson, who is retiring in December.

This year, Thompson served as the vice president of the board. She is the board’s longest-serving member and has been recognized as the longest-serving board of education member in Maryland.

Elena McComas, who is running unopposed, is seeking re-election in District 5.

Patricia Jackson, the election director of the Worcester County Board of Elections said anyone can run as a write-in candidate, but the regular filing deadline for candidacy has passed.

The deadline for write-in candidates to file for any office on the ballot is Oct. 19.

“Anyone can write a name on the ballot, but only qualified, filed write-in candidates will be reported on the totals report that our office issues after the election,” Jackson said.

Although absentee ballot voting is being encouraged across the state, Worcester County residents can vote at four voting centers for the 2020 general election: Pocomoke Community Center, 1410 Market Street in Pocomoke City, Snow Hill Middle School, 522 Coulbourne Lane in Snow Hill, Stephen Decatur Middle School, 9815 Seahawk Road in Berlin and Roland E. Powell Convention Center, 4001 Coastal Highway in Ocean City.

Instead of the 16 polling places based on precincts, the voting centers allow voters to cast their vote regardless of where they live in the county.

In-person voting on Election Day will be available 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.

The elected board members will be sworn in at the regular board meeting on Jan. 19, 2021.