Bayside Gazette 10031 Old Ocean City Blvd.
Berlin, MD 21811
Phone: 410-641-0039
Fax: 410-641-0085


OPA annual meeting, election results, Sat.

8/10/17 | By Josh Davis, Associate Editor

(Aug. 10, 2017) Four candidates for the Ocean Pines Association Board of Directors – not to mention 8,452 homeowners – will learn the results of the 2017 election at the annual meeting this Saturday at 10 a.m. in the Assateague Room of the community center on 235 Ocean Parkway.

Eight candidates originally filed and seven applications were approved, but three people dropped out before ballots were finalized. Two women and two men remain: Dr. Colette Horn, Nicole Schafer Crosariol, Doug Parks and Marty Clarke.

The two candidates who receive the largest number of votes will be elected to three-year terms on the seven-member board.

The annual meeting traditionally includes year-end reports from the association auditor, legal department, general manager and board president before the announcement of election results.

One hundred homeowners are required to attend in person or by proxy to reach a quorum. That shouldn’t be a problem, as the public has turned out en masse during several recent board meetings.

For the first time, the actual counting of votes will be done during an open session Friday at 9 a.m. in the Marlin Room of the community center. The Ocean Pines Elections Committee drafted a series of reforms earlier this year, including making the vote count public.

Elections Committee Chairman Steve Tuttle said the Marlin Room could seat roughly 30-40 people, plus the committee members, who will do the counting.

“Frankly, I don’t expect a huge crowd since the announcement of results will be a day later,” Tuttle said. The vote counting is expected to last several hours.

Ballots are due at the post office or inside the ballot drop-box inside the administration building on 239 Ocean Parkway today, Thursday, by 5 p.m.

For question, call the Elections Committee telephone hotline at 410-208-3989. 

There are no comments. be the first to post a comment.

«Go back to the previous page.